COCKTAIL BLUES

I am so sorry it took me a while to put up this post, I was tending to the fracture I got from rocking a 6inch heels. Yeah, I know there is no wisdom in wearing heels to a dusty place but d cocktail was so talked about I dint wanna carry last( what can a girl do?). My beautiful suede Christian Louboutin just got ruined šŸ˜¦ . What did you just say ehn? I heard you, you said, ” who dash monkey?” Well, na ur way it doesn’t matter if I wore one or not, what matters is I wore heels and it was 6inches and I rocked it like it was Louboutin.
Good news is I am here and so is ur gist. Honestly,the title of this post ought to be ‘much ado ’bout nothing’ because for the first time my ‘grandma glasses even when well placed on my nose’ saw nothing.
When I mentioned we had a cocktail as in a Lawyers’ cocktail, what went through ur mind? Lemme guess, u figured there would be champagne or maybe well prepared ponche and lots of salmosa, spring rolls n d likes to munch on. U also thought alcohol was going to be served since we are young adults and it is one of the few times we are not gonna be graded by our acts abi? . Well, if that was what you had in mind you have failed .
Lemme give u the right picture, ever been to a house party when u were in Junior class in ur high school? (Well, I know my mum ll never find this blog , so, I will tell u how we rocked those parties back in my days).
*Smiles*, in those days, whenever any of our friends was home alone, he/she will call the remaining members of our clique and we in turn will invite the ‘tight’ ones from school to the ‘party’. We were never cashed enough to buy alcohol so we made do with whatever we could steal from our parents’ bars unnoticed. D music was always crappy , the dudes were never up to standard in their borrowed clothes(of course law school boys are not crappy, I am just painting a picture), those that were not part of the clique had a lot to prove to be accepted so they come over dressed. Refreshment was stale/microwaved snacks and maybe cocacola.
Looking back now, I wonder why we thought it was fun, because growing up has taught us that for any party to blow, people have to misbehave, the music has to be off the hook and there is no such thing as a decent party.
Long story short, I hope Monday’s lectures will be more interesting. All said, I know I disappointed you, I am disappointed myself, so I will just coil in my head and hope the next time I am here you will be entertained.
News got to me though that the elderly aspiring lawyers rocked it, I am not surprised d party was 80s. People tried to make it fun , there was a university by university center dance, very remnicent of yoruba folktale dance and our very ‘tush’ colleagues from across the sea thought the arena too razz for their royal feet to move on( *in my acquired british accent* We are not hating on U.. Nuffsaid )
God bless ya Yvonne, I speak for all when I say the entire night wasn’t totally wasted. Till later everyone. *bows…

3 thoughts on “COCKTAIL BLUES

  1. What did u expect from a snotty,snobbish,nose in d air group. I’ll bet a pack of hyenas have more fun. Wait a minute,dis almost feels like beef sippin thru. Nice post,dear. Its my kinda shit.

Leave a comment