RACONTEUR

The beauty of being me is, I know everyone but nobody knows me, ok now, that’s sad *wipes tears with the helm of white shirt.
Well, y’all will agree I use that well, I snoop on everyone when they aint watching.
I know the tale of d physically unattractive dude that’s got the babe with the knockout body. I know the tale of the girl that refills her ‘eva’ bottle with sachet water and comes to class feeling like she doesn’t know what the ‘white room’ looks like. I know the tale of the ‘not so smart’ that grabs the mic at every chance he gets. I know the tale of the old man that tries to relive his youth at every opportunity. I know the tale of the one that feels pressured and tries so much just to ‘belong’. I know the tale of the one that ‘famz’ with another just for the security of a ride.
I go about in my grandma glasses and dusty black shoes and stare into the face of all these beautiful people, they stare back and I smile to myself ‘cos I know all of their tales. The tale of the girl that wishes the boy had eyes only for her. The tale of the one that thinks he ought to be the lecturer. The tale of the one that ‘cacks’ to mammy market hoping to meet ‘the one’. The tale of the one that eats once a day saying she doesn’t wanna get fat(she definitely aint deceiving me). The tale of the one who studied law in China and has a British accent. The tale of the one that called mama and papa that a car is a compulsory requirement and who have in turn appealed to the church for fund raising. The tale of the one that goes to town hoping her net catches a big fish. Oh! And I know the tale of my friend who sits at the house of the Lord with his headphones on, neatly arranged in front of him are his Efevwharen, Ojukwu and Oniekoro along with his Benakol material, King’s bench summary,note all for civil procedure class. I know the tale of the one that sucks up to the ‘highly placed’ in the hopes of a better future. I know of the one with an opinion about everything, the one that can swear she birthed us all. I know the tale of the ones that schooled right here in this Naija and have british, American, French, Congolese and other accents I havnt deciphered yet. The other day,I met someone who studied law in yugoslavia(forgive me,but Y naa)
They can’t see me ‘cos I am in the background, the light from my glasses drops on them all, I know all of their tales.. *evil grin

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

8 thoughts on “RACONTEUR

  1. I love this piece. LMAO @the tale of the ones that schooled right here in this Naija and have british, American, French, Congolese and other accents I havnt deciphered yet.

  2. I know d tales of d young pretty slim tall lady dat thinks she knows all tales!I sure know ur tale lady,bet I do!Or don’t I???smiles knowingly……

  3. Where did you get the glasses you use in seeing everything?No single detail is missing.Your grandma did u a lot of good because you’re seeing well.Great story.I love you.I love the story too!

  4. *grinning from teeth to teeth*.. Christ, I need bandages for my head, it’s hard to stay humble with all these compliments.. Gracias… We are because u are, thanks for ur time.. (Wait o, wetin I go talk if I win award, Tomi where are u na)

Leave a comment